Use Metaphors, Similes, and Figures of Speech to Enhance Your Writing

Use These to Make Your Writing Sparkle

Photo by Bud Helisson on Unsplash

Descriptions are tough for me. I’ve mentioned in the past that I’m not a descriptive writer which simply means that I focus on other things when I write. I focus on emotions and moving the plot forward and what characters are saying and doing. I’m not so concerned with what the environment, or even the characters, look like, sound like, smell like, etc. I haven’t purposely decided not to care about those things, but apparently, it’s not as important to me because I don’t even think of description on the first draft.

During rewrite, I sometimes realize that my story sounds flat. It’s missing that pizzaz that stories should have. It’s missing a strong voice and images and things that help a story come to life in a reader’s mind. And that’s when I go back and layer in descriptions.

Stories do need descriptions. Not long boring descriptions that readers will skip over, but sensory details that place the reader into the scene and help them experience the story. Descriptions breathe life into a story, making it a deeper work of art.

Since this is my weakness, I’d like to share some tips from other that I’ve learned from other writers, tips that can help both you and me.

--

--